Research


Research can take many forms.  For many it may mean just surfing the web, for others a trip to the library or the local archives office.

Lately I have been in ‘research mode’ gathering information for a few different projects I am currently working on.  However it has thrown up a few surprises that I have filed away for another day.

Looking at original documents that are over 100 years old is fascinating, be they a title deed or a letter from a soldier to his parents during the first world war.

Many years ago when I was a teenager I took up birdwatching seriously. However  there were not many bird identification books available in my price range.  So if I saw some birds locally that I had not identified before, I would often take a detour to the local museum (it was further along the riverbank) check out the natural history display cases and then return to birdwatching, confident I had correctly identified the birds seen.

Now of course it is so much easier.  On a break from my research, I stopped off at one of my regular birdwatching haunts  (mainly to try out my new telescope) Once in the nearest hide I looked out onto the lake hoping to see if there were some birds I hadn’t  seen before.  I was in luck. A male and a female smew in amongst the tufted ducks and  wigeon.  Alas I did not get a photo, but true to the ‘old ways’ I made a note of the behaviour and characteristics of the birds as well as the colour and size etc. Once back home (after a quick stop off at the local supermarket) I confirmed my sightings.

img_0036

However I can never resist a picture of a swan.

 

Leave a Reply

