Telstar


The first time I heard Telstar was way back in the 70s, I was flicking through my parents small record collection and came across a record called Telstar. Listening to it I was blown away by the unusual sound.  Throughout the years I discovered a little more about it.  It wasn’t until fairly recently when  I met a man who plays in a group called The Triumphs.  They perform a lot of ‘old rock/pop songs from the 60s including Telstar.  It was through Ken (the drummer) that I found out about the independent record producer Joe Meek  and the other songs he produced. I also found out about the ‘connection with Buddy Holly’ It was also around this time that the film Telstar was being made with Nick Moran as co-writer and director, staring Con O’Neill.  It also stars some of the original musicians from that era in cameo roles.  The film didn’t get a very big release in the UK  which is a shame.  Even though it was released around the anniversary of its title – Telstar  The DVD is widely available from places such as Amazon.

Leave a Reply

